Bipolar Depression

You may be wondering, “What is Bipolar Depression?” While I would love to give you a straightforward answer, I can’t really do that. I will try  my best to below though.
Here is a video that describes mood disorders, such as Bipolar Depression.

In this video they mentioned the book “An Unquiet Mind: A Memoir of Moods and Madness” by Kay Redfield Jamison. I have read this book and I really truly recommend the book if you are curious about Bipolar Depression or Bipolar Disorders in general. It is a memoir of her journey and describes it best I have found.

Another book is “The Bipolar Disorder Survival Guide: What You and Your Family Need to Know” by David J. Miklowitz, PhD. This book goes into how to recognize the warning signs of manic and depressive episodes, how to find the right medication and therapy and the journey you may have to go on to find the right fit, how to prevent mod swings from ruling your life, and finally how to stay on track at home and work. There are sections where people give their stories and incites, it helps you realize that you are not alone, there are other people out there and you can get through this. That you can thrive.

Some questions the book answers are:

  • How can you distinguish between early warning signs of bipolar mood swings and normal ups and downs?
  • What medications are available, and what are their side effects?
  • What should you do when you find yourself escalating into mania or descending into depression?
  • How can you tell your coworkers about your illness without endangering your career?
  • If you have a family member with bipolar disorder, how can you provide constructive help and support?

It has come to my attention that this should have perhaps been my first post as a way for you to get to know me little better. Where I tell you about my Bipolar Depression and everything that I know about it and my thoughts on it. Its hard to put into words my thoughts and feelings about my life and what all goes on in it and I don’t really want to create a post where I quote from books all of the time because I honestly have no idea on how to even begin. But I suppose I should begin from when I first started to seek treatment. Let me tell you a little story then.

I had just moved out of the nest and was out in the big bad world with no family around me, though I thankfully had the privilege of having a free place to stay during my time at University. I knew I was depressed and so I went to the counseling service building on campus and went to a few sessions and never went back for individual sessions, mainly for scheduling reasons but also because I didn’t feel like it was helping and my counselor couldn’t provide me with the information that I desperately needed. I kept thinking that there was something wrong with me, but also doubting myself and thinking that I was over exaggerating what everyone felt, so I kept having these internal struggles.

Then one semester I figured I would try group therapy through the counselors office, maybe this would help me better understand myself. But again I felt isolated and alone in the group, my struggles were not something I could easily put into words, every time I would speak up the group wanted to know more and I would get frustrated because how could I tell something i didn’t know myself, the group expressed frustration with my “superficial shit” as one person so eloquently put it, but the superficial shit means a lot to me. One time I expressed that I would like to seek help and mediation because I felt like there were multiple identities within my body, like that old tale of the wolves, you have two wolves fighting and the one who eats more grows, but my example was that of a wolf pack but that there were multiple wolves fighting to be pack leader, fighting for dominance over the others and it was that constant struggle for dominance that had me wanting to seek help. Everyone in the group was extremely nice though, and what happens in group stays in group, but I can tell you about my experiences and what I did and experienced in group, if that makes sense? Finally the end of the semester rolled around and I chose not to go back to group session next semester and seek other help instead.

I found out later on that there was a free clinic for students at the University Hospital, so I made a appointment and went to see my first psychiatrist and she listened to my story and diagnosed me with Bipolar Depression and took the time to sit down with me and find a medication that would work best for me and if my medication would be covered under my insurance.

So, you may have questions, like what is Bipolar Depression. Well, I will try my best to explain. But I highly recommend the books listed above and to watch the video linked.

Bipolar Depression is where you experience periods of time where you are manic, depressive or neutral. Imagine a three tier system where the top tier is your manic episode, the middle tier is your neutral level and the bottom tier is your depressive episode. Bipolar Depression is where you spend most of your time in the bottom tier and less time in the top or middle tier, but you still have episodes of mania or top tier level where you loose sleep, spend more, have racing thoughts and you feel like you are on top of the world. So I spent the majority of my time in the depressive state and that is why it is called Bipolar Depression, but I also have neutral periods where I feel…normal, but then what is normal for me is little depressed but not to where it affects my life. Anxiety usually accompanies with Bipolar Disorder. I am on one medication for my Bipolar Depression and one medication for my insomnia and anxiety.  But I don’t let my Bipolar Depression rule my life, I still live a great life, I am happy and I have great friends who help me when I am feeling low and I have a beautiful puppy and kitties to get me through the day.

Again if you have any questions or comments, leave them in the comments section.

Hope you have a wonderful day! 🙂

Here is a clematis from my garden to make your day alittle better.

9 thoughts on “Bipolar Depression

  1. Hi 🙂

    I think you made a big flaw in your blog.

    On the title you have written Bipolar Depression, but as a reader I didn’t know what it is. In the introduction, I would like to have explained to me what is Bipolar Depression so that you can direct the readers and let them know what the condition is.

    The easiest thing to do is write out a structure of the purpose of your blog is, by the end of it, you say what I’m going to deal with this disorder in the future and maybe do another blog to give the readers an update down the line.

    You have explained the end of the blog pretty well after you said “But I don’t let my Bipolar Depression rule my life”…. so I would keep that where it is.

    I hope you found this feedback useful.

    Life Happening Now

    https://realjoephill25.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. I was thinking about making a blog titled “what is bipolar depression” in the future to explain in more detail after I did some more research myself, so I could better explain what it is, because there isn’t really a lot known about it to be honest, or at least what I have found has not been up to par with what I want to know, if that makes sense. I want to be able to make a post that explains it in more detail for those who are curious.
      Again, I am new and I am not entirely sure what I need to do and I greatly appreciate constructive criticism and I will use your suggestion in the future ( to write out a plan/structure). Mostly what I have been doing, even in school papers, is I just write, I give myself a topic, or sometimes I don’t even do that, i just write and see where my fingers take me, to see what journey we will go on, sometimes it doesn’t really make sense though and I can see how this would be confusing for someone. For me it makes sense because it is in my head, just sometimes it doesn’t come out right.

      So would it be better to re title this blog post to something else, for instance “Bipolar depression and me v1”?
      the problem is that this is a journey and I’m not really sure how I’m going to deal with my disorder in the future, I’ll know when it happens, if that makes sense, or maybe I am just misunderstanding your wording, that is a great possibility.

      Like

  2. I would just leave the title as it is and just write a brief intro or summary into what the condition is.

    Maybe see if there are YouTube videos about the condition itself and maybe insert it into your blog?

    When I write blogs, I just write when I’m ready and just write down things on top of my head in my blog so at least when I save my blog and come back to it, I can then review what I have written and don’t have to remember putting in anything else.

    Sometimes when my thoughts are in my head, I can’t then go and type them on a computer or some kind so I usually grab pen and paper or I use a smartphone and note down what is in my head at the time. When you go through this journey, this would be an effective way of writing down what your going through.

    Hope this helps.

    Life Happening Now

    https://realjoephill25.wordpress.com

    Like

    1. I’m not entirely sure how to do that, but I will look around. But like I said there isn’t really a lot of people out there talking about it, thats actually one of the reasons as to why I thought I would start a blog, to talk about it, but as you can see I am fumbling bit 🙂

      I have never been very good at proof reading or drafting papers unfortunately. That was one of my downfalls in university.
      When I can I do write things down in my smartphone, and on occasion I have wrote things on pen and paper if I’m somewhere like work and it isn’t busy and I can.
      But I will look into it and try to work something out. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment